Featured | Show Me Missourah

Iron County

December 28, 2018

This week, the team is in the historic Iron County Courthouse to continue telling the history of Missouri one county at a time.

Joining our host, Scott Faughn, is Presiding Commissioner Jim Scaggs, Western Commissioner Josh Campbell and John Abney with the Iron County Historical Society.

Iron County is located in southeast Missouri, commonly referred to as the Lead Belt region. As of the 2010 census, the population was 10,630.

Organized on February 17, 1857, Iron County is named for the abundance of iron ore found within its borders. Its seat resides in Ironton which is also its largest city.

Politically speaking, Iron County is controlled by the Democratic Party. Democrats hold 11 of the 14 election position in the county.

Iron County has four public school districts Arcadia Valley School District (PreK-12) in Ironton; Belleview R-III Elementary School (K-8) in Belleview; Iron County C-4 School District (K-12) in Viburnum and South Iron County R-I School District (PreK-12) in Annapolis. There is also an Arcadia Valley Career Technical Center in Ironton which teaches grades 9-12. The county has one public library, the Ozark Regional Library.